Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

Uxbridge 3
Hayes & Yeading United
Half-Time: 1-2 Referee: Mr M Walton
The game started in scrappy fashion which saw tackles flying in from both sides, it was however Uxbridge who took the lead after a misunderstanding between Adam Thomson and Donnell Allen which saw the ball fall nicely to an Uxbridge midfielder who duly put the home side 1-0 up. 

The young Hayes & Yeading United side rallied and started to play some neat football which resulted in Hayes & Yeading netting a deserved equaliser on 35 minutes. Esmond James found himself in open space before slipping the ball to Malachi Bulley who beat the on-coming keeper by lofting the ball over his head into an empty net.

James himself put United 2-1 up right on the stroke of half-time by rounding the advancing keeper and slotting into an empty net.

In the second half tempers began to flare because of the tackles but it was Hayes & Yeading who scored just after the break with some good football which resulted in Rhys Price finishing off a good move to slot past the keeper to put United 3-1 to the good.

The home side rallied and were awarded a somewhat dubious penalty when only the referee saw a shirt pull on an Uxbridge player, which none of the Uxbridge players even appealed for. Thomson guessed the right way and got a hand to it but the ball rolled agonisingly into the net to cut United's advantage to a single goal.

Hayes & Yeading would have increased their lead but for some good keeping from the home side that kept them within touching distance as the end of the game approached. This proved vital for Uxbridge as they fired home an equaliser after some slack defending let them in.

The home side now buoyed by pulling level would have taken all three points but for two brilliant Thomson saves that kept a point secure for Colin Davis' side.

Report by Paul Ashcroft.

United Line-up: Adam Thomson, Ray Curtis, Harry Shankster, Matthew Madders, Donnell Allen, James Walters, Josh Andrew, Rhys Price, Dale Fisher, Esmond James, Malachi Bulley. Subs: Jake Lovell, Junior Howell, Sam Arhin, Dan Mehmet, John Peacock.