Hayes & Yeading United Football Club

Click Here to go back to the previous page

Hayes & Yeading United 2
Carshalton Athletic 2
Half-Time: 1-0 Referee: Mr G Thorley
This was a physical game with tackles flying in from the start especially from the visiting Robins and despite both teams at times playing some good football the constant stop/start didn't do a lot for the spectators.

United finally started to increase the tempo and took a deserved lead on 25 minutes when Toby Little picked the ball up about 40 yards out, raced past three Carshalton defenders before planting the ball into the net past Robins keeper Antony Hall.

Hall saved well shortly before the break and his opposite number Adam Thomson did well to block a Jeremy Williams effort from a yard out just before half time.

Carshalton came out the stronger in the second half with both Ben Rayner and Jamie King going close for the visitors who finally got a deserved equaliser when Rayner's cross found an unmarked Anthony Bridgeman gifting him a free header from which he gave Thomson no chance.

Straight from the kick off, exactly as they had in the previous game against Harefield, United reacted to conceding by going straight to the other end and scoring themselves. Jack Rooney played a ball over the Carshalton defence for Dennis Zadeikas to run onto, he rounded Hall and coolly slotted the ball into the vacant net.

Carshalton kept putting on the pressure and were finally rewarded when a penalty was awarded for a foul on substitute Tony Chaplin, who had only just arrived on the pitch, by Thomson. Luke Simpson stepped up and placed the resulting penalty into the top corner of the net. 

Both teams went after the winner but to no avail and at the end of the day both teams lost their 100% records but a draw was a fair result.

Report by Paul Ashcroft.

United Line-up: Adam Thomson, Emmanuel Sackey, Toby Little, Malachi Bulley, Donnell Allen, Jack Rooney, Dennis Zadeikas, Erhard Seho, Junior Howell, Miles Jones, A Clarke. Subs: Calum Scrivens, Chris Lapierre, Nathan Davidson, Tayo Coker, Mohammed Saadi.
Little, Zadeikas.
Bridgeman, Simpson (pen).